What Return on Investment (ROI) means?
RETURN ON INVESTMENT ( ROI)
Definition: It is the ratio between the Net profit and Cost of investment resulting from an investment of some resources.
If we talk about ROI in a layman language it means the total amount we receive after deducting all over expenses i.e ( net profit) divided by the amount we invested for running the business which is also known as capital, multiply by 100.
The formula for calculating ROI
ROI =( Net Profit / Cost of Investment) x 100
ROI stands for Return on Investment
Net Profit the amount we earn after subtracting all allowances business expenses.
Cost of Investment the amount which we invested to start the business.
ROI in SEO and PPC
It is normal human behavior that everyone expects a profit on his investment whether it will be in any field, let’s suppose in our daily life if we invest Rs.10 then we expect bare minimum profit from that small piece of investment. So, in the same, every client expects from a search marketing agency.
ROI may differ to figure out in SEO & PPC :
The scenario in SEO ROI :
- Search engine ranking: In this, we have to make it sure whether the short-tail keywords perform well or long-tail keywords in SERP. It hardly matters from where the traffic is targeted from SERP.
- Building Links: If we are working on building links for generating leads, to rank our website or running any campaign then we have to include a list of inbound links that resulted in purchases, which includes details from organic search engine traffic as well.
- In SEO we can calculate ROI for which we need a few things:
- Keywords( Volume of keywords also)
- Cost of SEO
- No of potential new clients
- Profit per new client
The scenario in PPC ROI: In PPC, if we are talking about ROI it is ROAS which means a return on ad spends.
ROAS = PPC Revenue – PPC Cost/ PPC Cost , usually shown in percentage .
How ROI Changes
The scenario of ROI in PPC:
- Average sales increase = ROI also Increases
- Average sales decreases = ROI also Decreases
IDEAL SITUATION = Average Sales should increases
- Cost per click (CPC) increases = Cost on advertising increases, then ROI Decreases
IDEAL SITUATION = CPC should Decrease
- Conversion rate increases =Low cost on advertising to get sale, so ROI, in turn, goes up.
IDEAL SITUATION=Conversion rate should increase
For determining the ROI of any campaign we need to focus on these elements :
- Advertisement cost
2 thoughts on “What is ROI and how is it Calculated?”
Nice post. I study one thing tougher on totally different blogs everyday. It would at all times be stimulating to learn content from different writers and practice just a little one thing from their store. I抎 desire to use some with the content material on my weblog whether you don抰 mind. Natually I抣l provide you with a hyperlink in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.
I’m typically to running a blog and i really admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and hold checking for new information.